Police work is inherently dangerous.  Daily, police officers across Australia put their own lives and safety at risk to protect members of the Australian community.  The National Police Bravery Awards seeks to recognise exceptional acts in exceptional circumstances undertaken by Australia’s police.

The Police Federation of Australia (PFA) as the ‘National Voice of Policing’, represents the professional and industrial interests of Australia’s police officers.

Officers across the country make an Oath, pledging that they will act to protect the community, 24 hours a day, seven days a week, both on and off duty, regardless of the risk to their own health and safety.  They constantly place their lives at risk while protecting the life and property of others.

Currently, there are a number of ways a police officer’s bravery may be recognised. These include: awards given by individual jurisdictions, the Australian Bravery Decorations as identified in the Australian Honours and Awards system, other national and state awards such as the Royal Humane Society of Australasia, the Royal Humane Society of NSW, along with other organisations’ awards processes.  Each have their own protocols for dealing with nominations, which can mean that some heroic actions by police are overlooked and are never formally recognised.

The NATIONAL POLICE BRAVERY AWARDS is not intended to replace other bravery awards (no medallic recognition will be awarded) and has been specifically developed as “an award for police by police”.  This award will transcend all state and jurisdictional divides, making the recipients truly national heroes.

Bravery means different things to different people.

In the context of these awards, individuals must have undertaken an outstanding act of courage or bravery, by selflessly putting themselves in harms way to protect others, going well beyond the call of duty.

The 2024 National Police Bravery Awards ceremony will be held at the Police Federation of Australia’s Conference Dinner at the National Museum in Canberra on Tuesday 17 September 2024.

Nominations for the Award are sought, from police officers, for police officers across Australia.


Any sworn police officer can make a nomination by completing this form.

Who can be nominated?

The nominee must have been a serving police officer at the time of the incident for which the nomination has been received.

Where feasible, it is anticipated that the incident being recognised would have taken place in the preceding 12 months to the nomination, from 1 July 2023 to 30 June 2024.

Exceptions could include where the matter is subjudice or if other unavoidable delays have occurred preventing the incident from being recognised in the preceding year in which it occurred.

Please note that no self-nominations will be accepted.

Nominations are encouraged to include relevant newspaper or other media of the incident including video/tv footage or other photos.

Who judges the nominations?

An eminent national selection panel has been assembled, which includes current and former members with significant relevant experience.

All nominations will be treated as confidential.

Nominations close on 30 June 2024.

The winner will be announced at the Awards Dinner on Tuesday 17 September, 2024.